100,000 views, quiet Sundays, and suggest-a-church

ImageAt some point today, my three week old blog hit 100,000 page views.  Chances are, at least one of those page views is because of you, so thanks for reading!  And if you left a comment or sent an email, thanks for that as well.  I haven’t responded to all of them, but I have read every one of them.

I didn’t visit a church this past Sunday nor am I likely to next Sunday because of things.  Although next Sunday night’s 7pm service might work for my promised return to Mars Hill Church, depending on how tired those things make me.

Saturday, I’d like to visit a Seventh Day Adventist church, and it’s penciled in as a definite maybe.

Sometime during the week I’m going to visit a Baha’i place.  Possibly tomorrow night.

ImageI’m thinking about putting up a poll, and letting you guys vote on where I go.  Would you be interested in that?  Post a comment to this post, or send me an email with your suggestion, and if there’s sufficient response, I’ll filter through the suggestions for places that are available near me, and make a poll out of it.

9 thoughts on “100,000 views, quiet Sundays, and suggest-a-church

  1. I’d kinda like to see you visit a Hindu temple. I’m curious as to what they believe and what they’re worship services are like. I’m a Mormon, but I love religion and religious history. Hinduism is a very complex, interesting faith with a rich history. Unfortunately, due to the very multifaceted nature of the religion, what one Hindu believes is not universally what others do. It would be interesting at the very least to see how it ranks on your list and I’m curious what a Hindu service is like since we have none in my town or possibly even state.

    Also, I’d really like you follow through with that planned Eastern Orthodox (serbian) church visit you planned a few weeks ago. That would have been really fascinating.

    Although I am religious, I often sympathize with atheists and atheism as being an intellectual it can be hard to take some things on faith. In addition to that, there is often not much support for being an intellectual in many faith based communities in general. Many people it seems are religious for cultural reasons rather than sincere feelings of the soul. Ironically, being a Mormon I have found that learning about other religions, strengthens my faith in my own. Not because I see other religions as inferior, but because I see the common threads in all religions, that for me, point to a common source. I think what you’re doing is wonderful. And even if your new found knowledge doesn’t lead to any change in your personal beliefs, at the very least you are a credit to humanism in learning about a subject. Knowledge is power and education enriches life. Education is a worthy end in and of itself.

    I look forward to more of your enlightening adventures, (pun intended)
    Derek.

    Also, if it would be possible, a Shinto monastery would be wonderfully enriching as well.

  2. Well, I was going to recommend a Shinto shrine, but the only one I found in a google search, Tsubaki Grand Shrine of America, doesn’t seem to have services.

  3. Visit a Baptist church. There are 2: Southern Baptist and regular baptist. Southern Baptists are interesting to say the least. I am interested in how they do using your criteria.

Leave a Reply

